

Press Release

02 December 2021

INAUGURALTION OF WATERBERG DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY FIFTH COUNCIL

Waterberg District Municipality successfully held its inaugural council meeting on 02 December 2021 in Modimolle-Mookgophong Local Municipality. Councillor Morris Mataboge was re-elected as the Executive Mayor, Cllr Regina Molokomme, the former speaker of Lephalale Local Municipality, was elected as the District Speaker and Councillor Bernard Monare from Mogalakwena Local Municipality was elected as the Chief Whip.

In his acceptance speech, the Executive Mayor, highlighted that the newly formed council is more than committed to resolve challenges of unemployment, poverty, inequality, corruption, and nepotism. He further said they will also focus on addressing challenges of poor financial management and inability to implement, monitor and evaluate capital projects in the within the District Municipalities "I must therefore, put it on record that we are more than committed to tackle the bull by its horns in our resolve to deal with these challenges. We commit that our achievements cannot be measured by the way we speak, but by the vigour we put in our resolve to improve the quality of the lives of the masses that voted for us" said the Mayor.

Conscious Chiloane

Communication Manager

Conscious.chiloane@lephalale.gov.za

078 725 1020/014 762 1496